Select Language

Spanco CSC

Common Service Centre(CSC) is one of the core ICT enabled Initiatives of the Government of India (GoI) under its National E-Governance Plan (NEGP), which aims at setting up service kiosks in villages across India. The CSC scheme is envisaged to be a bottom-up model for delivery of content, services, information and knowledge, that can allow like-minded public and private enterprises - through a collaborative framework - to integrate their goals of profit as well as social objectives, into a sustainable business model for achieving rapid socio-economic change in rural India.

Spanco's objective includes provision of speedy and efficient services in conformity with the service level to the users without any discrimination on grounds of religion, race, caste or sex; making it convenient for citizens and other stakeholders to interact with the government and educating the users about the relevant procedures.

CSCs will play the role of an effective "change agent" that would provide a structured platform for socially inclusive community participation for collective developmental activities. This transformation would be undertaken through three important components:

  • Network and systems integration solutions
  • A Public Private Partnership (PPP) Framework
  • Rural entrepreneurship and market mechanisms
  • Government policy and support

The CSC is positioned to promote rural entrepreneurship, build rural capacities and livelihoods, and enable community participation and collective action for social change - through a bottom-up model with focus on the rural citizen.

A three-tier structure defines the overall CSC Scheme:

  • At the first (CSC) level would be the local Village Level Entrepreneur (VLE) to service the rural consumer in a focused cluster of 5-6 villages.
  • At the second/middle level would be an entity termed the Service Centre Agency (SCA) to train, manage and build the VLE businesses
  • At the third level would be the agency designated by the State- the State Designated Agency (SDA) - to facilitate implementation of the Scheme within the State, to provide policy, content and financial support to the SCAs


  • Common man would be able to procure information speedily and leverage that to reap economic benefits
  • IT education and various other trainings offered would also increase the employability for rural citizens in the fields of financial services, micro enterprises, telemedicine and health
  • Enable easy, direct and cost-effective delivery of e-governance services to the rural citizens
  • Promote rural entrepreneurship, build rural livelihoods, and enable collective community participation for social change
  • Provide a platform to civil society organisations and NGOs to communicate with remote and isolated communities and help them in their upliftment
  • It would have a significant and lasting impact on rural livelihood in the areas of empowerment, equal opportunity, gender equity, social inclusion, better governance, employment generation and human development


Spanco CSC's objective in Maharashtra is to develop a platform that will enable organizations to align their goals for the benefit of 11 districts in Maharashtra namely, Mumbai, Mumbai Suburban, Thane, Sindhudurg, Raigarh, Solapur, Satara, Ratnagiri, Pune, Sangli and Kolhapur. These centers are named as 'Maha e-Seva Kendra' as part of the initiative of Department of Information Technology, Government of Maharashtra.


With an aim to bring transparency in the system and establish citizen centric governance, the plan is to set up CSCs for the benefit of the rural population through a combination of IT-based and non-IT-based services. Punjab government launched a CSC scheme called 'Gram Suvidha Kendra' and Spanco has been selected as Service Center Agency to be set up Common Service Centers in six revenue divisions of the state through public-private partnership. Spanco Limited will be managing and operating 376 CSCs for 3 zones in the state of Punjab. These are being implemented in the districts of Bhatinda, Mansa, Muktsar, Moga, Faridakot, Ferozepur and Fazilka